

YM 2.9.3.1

MEDIA RELEASE

17 June 2017 Release 04 / June 2017

IMMEDIATE

YAYASAN MENDAKI'S 28TH AGM SCHOOL READY: PERFORM IN SCHOOL: FUTURE READY

Yayasan MENDAKI held its 28th Annual General Meeting (AGM) at Wisma MENDAKI today. It was chaired by Dr Yaacob Ibrahim, Minister for Communications and Information, Minister-In-Charge of Cyber Security, Minister-In-Charge of Muslim Affairs and Chairman of MENDAKI's Board of Directors.

The AGM received and adopted the Directors' Reports and Accounts for the year ended 31 December 2016. MENDAKI reported an expenditure of \$34 million to support the community's development through education and impacting more than 71,000 beneficiaries.

The AGM also saw the election of seven new Directors to the Board (refer to Annex A). They will serve the 2017-2019 term and join the existing Directors who continue to serve their two-year term of 2015-2017. MENDAKI also records its appreciation to the retired Directors who completed serving their term (refer to Annex B).

We look forward to working together with our Board and the community to continue supporting the community's aspirations and achieve our vision for a Community of Excellence.

ANNEX A

List of Newly Elected Directors

S/N	Name	Nominating Organisation	Status
1.	MR AHMAD FIRDAUS BIN DAUD	CENTRAL COUNCIL OF MALAY CULTURAL ORGANISATIONS (MAJLIS PUSAT)	Newly-elected
2.	MR FARIHULLAH S/O ABDUL WAHAB SAFIULLAH	FEDERATION OF INDIAN MUSLIMS (FIM)	Re-elected
3.	MR MOHAMED ABDUL AKBAR BIN MOHAMED ABDUL KADER	SINGAPORE MALAY CHAMBER OF COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY (DPPMS)	Re-elected
4.	MR MUHAMAD NUZHAN BIN ABDUL HALIM	SINGAPORE ISLAMIC SCHOLARS AND RELIGIOUS TEACHERS' ASSOCIATION (PERGAS)	Newly-elected
5.	MR NORAZLAN BIN IBRAHIM	SINGAPORE MALAY TEACHERS' UNION (KGMS)	Newly-elected
6.	MS RAHAYU BINTE MOHAMAD	PERSATUAN PEMUDI ISLAM SINGAPURA (PPIS)	Re-elected
7.	MS ZARINA BEGAM BINTE ABDUL RAZAK	PERDAUS	Newly-elected

ANNEX B

List of Retiring Directors

S/N	Name	Nominating Organisation
1.	MR ARZAMI BIN SALIM	SINGAPORE MALAY TEACHERS' UNION (KGMS)
2.	MR IRIANTO BIN SAFARI	MAJLIS PUSAT
3.	MR MOHAMMAD TAUFIQ BIN MOHAMED ISMAIL	PERDAUS
4.	MR MUHAMMAD ZAHID BIN MOHD ZIN	PERGAS